Walking & Travel

Best Cat Carriers

Amazon Basics gray and blue hard-sided pet carrier with top and front doors (opens Amazon in a new tab)

For many cats, the cat carrier is the hardest part of a vet visit. Feline vets have written guidelines on what makes a good one, and on how to get a cat to walk in on its own [1][2].

We picked three carriers against that checklist: a hard carrier with a top door, a soft zip carrier, and a backpack for trips on foot.

Our 3 picks at a glance

  1. Best Hard-SidedAmazon Basics 2-Door Top-Load Hard-Sided Pet CarrierFront and top doors; sized by pet height and length (12–20 lb as a guide)Check price on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
  2. Best Soft-SidedMorpilot Soft Cat CarrierZippered soft carrier with a two-sided pad and a folding bowlCheck price on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
  3. Best BackpackTexsens Bubble Backpack Pet CarrierHands-free backpack with mesh sides, for cats up to about 18 poundsCheck price on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

How we picked

We searched Amazon for cat carriers and read the top organic results, skipping listings with a near-perfect score from only a few ratings. We picked one hard-sided carrier, one soft-sided and one backpack, each with thousands of ratings.

We checked each against the AAFP and ISFM handling guidelines and Cat Friendly Homes, the AAFP's site for owners [1][2][3]. If you travel by car with a dog too, see our dog car seat guide.

What feline vets say about carriers

The 2011 AAFP and ISFM handling guidelines describe a good carrier as sturdy, secure, stable, easy to carry and quiet to open. They recommend a removable top, especially for fearful, sick, painful or limited-mobility cats [1]. The 2022 guidelines add that at the clinic the top half can come off so the cat is examined in the bottom half [2].

Cat Friendly Homes adds: look for both a top and a front opening, a bottom that's easy to clean and won't leak, and good airflow with some visual cover [3]. None of these sources says hard or soft is better. They list features instead.

In the car, the 2022 guidelines cite Center for Pet Safety advice that most carriers, including all hard plastic ones, go on the floor behind the front seats [2]. Getting the cat used to the carrier matters as much as the carrier: leave it out at home with soft bedding and treats inside, so it becomes a familiar spot [1][4].

1Best Hard-Sided

Amazon Basics 2-Door Top-Load Hard-Sided Pet Carrier

4.6 out of 5 from 65,636 ratings on Amazon (as of September 2026)

Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.

This carrier has both a front door and a top door, which is what Cat Friendly Homes recommends [3]. A top door means you can lift a nervous cat in and out instead of tipping it out of the front. The listing says the top door swings open either way, and both doors have spring latches you can work with one hand.

It's plastic with steel wire doors, vented on the sides, top and back, and 22.8 by 15 by 13 inches. The listing says to choose by your pet's height and length, with weight (12 to 20 pounds) as a guide only.

Good to know

  • Top and front doors [3]
  • Sold by Amazon
  • Sturdy plastic with wire doors

Keep in mind

  • The halves are held together with screws; the listing doesn't say the top is meant to come off
  • Amazon shows the same 65,636 ratings on a one-door version, so the rating is shared
  • A hard plastic carrier goes on the car floor behind the front seats [2]
2Best Soft-Sided

Morpilot Soft Cat Carrier

4.6 out of 5 from 37,773 ratings on Amazon (as of September 2026)

Sold by Life inspiratio, ships from Amazon.

A soft carrier is lighter and folds flat for storage. This one is 17.3 by 12.2 by 13.4 inches, with mesh on about 40% of its surface for airflow and a buckle the listing says stops your pet escaping.

It comes with a removable two-sided pad (cool side for summer, warm side for winter), a shoulder strap and a folding bowl. The fleece mat comes out for washing.

Good to know

  • Folds flat for storage
  • Pad, strap and folding bowl included
  • Weighs 2.6 pounds, per the listing

Keep in mind

  • Weight limit conflict: the title says 20 lbs; the spec says 16. Go by 16
  • The listing doesn't say whether it opens from the top
  • A tag says "Airline Approved", but the listing also says to check each airline's rules; do that
3Best Backpack

Texsens Bubble Backpack Pet Carrier

4.6 out of 5 from 12,484 ratings on Amazon (as of September 2026)

Sold by TEXSENS, ships from Amazon.

If you walk or take transit to the vet, a backpack frees your hands. This one is 12.6 by 11.4 by 16.5 inches, with mesh on three sides and a chest buckle to spread the weight.

Fit is the key check: the listing says your pet must sit within 14.5 inches tall and 12 inches wide. It lists cats up to 18 pounds in one place and 8 kg (about 17.6 pounds) in another.

Good to know

  • Hands-free for walking
  • Mesh on three sides for airflow
  • Removable mat

Keep in mind

  • Check fit: your cat must sit within 14.5 × 12 inches
  • The listing doesn't describe its openings; lifting a cat out of a backpack is usually harder than out of a top door
  • A spec tag says "Airline Approved", but airlines set their own rules; check yours

Side by side

ProductTypeOpeningsSizePet weight (listing)
Amazon Basics 2-doorHard plasticFront + top22.8 × 15 × 13 in12–20 lbs, "reference only"
MorpilotSoft, zipNot specified17.3 × 12.2 × 13.4 in16 lbs (title: 20)
Texsens backpackBackpackNot specified12.6 × 11.4 × 16.5 inAbout 17.6–18 lbs

Specs as stated on each Amazon listing, checked September 2026.

What to look for

A top opening

Cat Friendly Homes recommends a top and a front opening [3], and the guidelines favor a top that comes off [1].

Easy to clean

Look for a carrier that's easy to clean, with a bottom that won't leak [3].

Airflow and a little cover

Good ventilation plus some visual shielding; a towel over the carrier can help a nervous cat [1][3].

Airline rules

Size and type rules vary by airline. Check with yours before you buy for a flight.

The bottom line

  • Best Hard-Sided: The Amazon Basics has the top and front doors Cat Friendly Homes recommends, and it's sold by Amazon.
  • Best Soft-Sided: The Morpilot folds flat and comes with a pad and bowl; go by its 16-pound spec.
  • Best Backpack: The Texsens is for trips on foot, if your cat fits within 14.5 × 12 inches.

Questions pet parents ask

Is a hard or soft cat carrier better?

None of the feline vet sources we read recommends one over the other. They list features instead: sturdy, secure, easy to clean, with a top opening [1][3].

How do I get my cat into a carrier?

Start long before the trip. Leave the carrier out at home with soft bedding and treats inside so your cat goes in on its own [1][4]. The 2022 guidelines say teaching cats to enter carriers willingly is good for their welfare [2].

Where should a cat carrier go in the car?

On the floor behind the front seats, for most carriers and all hard plastic ones, according to Center for Pet Safety advice cited in the 2022 guidelines [2].

What size carrier does my cat need?

Go by your cat's height and length, not just weight. The Amazon Basics listing says its weight range is for reference only, and the Texsens gives a 14.5 × 12 inch fit.

Are these carriers airline approved?

Two listings carry an "Airline Approved" tag, but airline rules differ. Check with your airline before you buy.

Sources

  1. Rodan I, Sundahl E, Carney H, et al. AAFP and ISFM Feline-Friendly Handling Guidelines. Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery 13(5):364–375 (2011). journals.sagepub.com
  2. Rodan I, Dowgray N, Carney HC, et al. 2022 AAFP/ISFM Cat Friendly Veterinary Interaction Guidelines: Approach and Handling Techniques. Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (2022). journals.sagepub.com
  3. O'Steen H. Choosing the Perfect Cat Carrier. Cat Friendly Homes (AAFP), 2025. catfriendly.com
  4. O'Steen H. Five Cat Carrier Tips. Cat Friendly Homes (AAFP), 2019, modified 2022. catfriendly.com