Dog Beds & Crates

Best Large Dog Beds

Bedsure XL gray bolster dog bed with a removable cover (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Almost every large dog bed on Amazon calls itself "orthopedic". We looked for evidence that these beds ease joint pain and didn't find a controlled study. So we judged them on things you can check: size, a washable cover, and how honest the listing is about weight limits.

Our three picks are extra-large bolster beds with removable covers. Two list foam bases; the third lists foam in its bullets but polyester fill in its spec. One gives a sleeping area and a maximum dog length, which makes sizing much easier.

Our 3 picks at a glance

  1. Best OverallBedsure XL Dog Bed, 42-Inch Sofa Style42 × 32 inches with bolsters on four sides and a waterproof layerCheck price on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
  2. Best for the Biggest DogsEHEYCIGA Orthopedic Extra Large Dog Bed, 44-InchLargest bed here at 44 × 32 inches, with a stated limit of about 100 poundsCheck price on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
  3. Best for Sizing UpComfort Expression XL Dog BedThe only listing that gives a sleeping area (34 × 26 in) and a dog lengthCheck price on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

How we picked

We searched Amazon for large dog beds and read the top organic results. We left out raised cot beds, which we cover in our elevated bed guide, and beds too small for a large dog. We kept XL beds rated at least 4 out of 5 with more than 10,000 ratings.

Where a listing gave a weight limit that didn't make sense for its size, we say so rather than repeat it. Care advice comes from the AKC [1], and guidance on bedding preferences comes from Canine Arthritis Management, a UK education group [2].

What we know about "orthopedic" dog beds

Supportive bedding is commonly recommended for dogs with arthritis, but we found no controlled, peer-reviewed study showing that orthopedic or memory-foam beds reduce joint pain. Treat "orthopedic" on a label as a description of the foam, not a medical promise.

Canine Arthritis Management is a UK education group, sponsored in part by the bed maker Big Barker. It says dogs have individual preferences for bedding type, depth, size and where it goes, and suggests watching how your dog responds and adjusting [2]. If your dog has joint problems, ask your vet.

On practical choices, the AKC suggests a removable cover you can wash weekly, and says machine-washable and dryable options matter, especially for older dogs [1]. All three picks have covers that come off.

1Best Overall

Bedsure XL Dog Bed, 42-Inch Sofa Style

4.6 out of 5 from 35,896 ratings on Amazon (as of September 2026)

Sold by Bedsure Comfy Pet, ships from Amazon.

The Bedsure is the most-rated of our picks. It's 42 by 32 inches, 6.5 inches thick, with a bolster on all four sides for a dog that likes to lean or rest its head, and a lowered front to step in.

The cover has a laminated waterproof layer and unzips for machine washing, per the listing. It lists OEKO-TEX and CertiPUR-US certifications and a non-slip bottom.

Good to know

  • Most ratings of our three picks
  • Bolster on four sides; low entry
  • Waterproof layer and machine-washable cover

Keep in mind

  • No believable weight limit: the spec says 15 pounds for this XL size
  • The spec says polyester fiber fill while the bullets say egg-crate foam
  • The same ratings appear on the smaller Large size
2Best for the Biggest Dogs

EHEYCIGA Orthopedic Extra Large Dog Bed, 44-Inch

4.5 out of 5 from 23,041 ratings on Amazon (as of September 2026)

Sold by Emoh US, ships from Amazon.

This is the longest bed of our three, at 44 by 32 inches, and it states the highest weight limit of the three: about 100 pounds (45 kg). It has bolsters on three sides and a foam base.

Care is clear: take out the foam, machine wash the cover cold on a delicate cycle, and tumble dry low. Don't wash the foam. The listing says to let the bed expand for 24 to 48 hours after unpacking.

Good to know

  • Longest bed: 44 inches
  • About 100-pound limit stated
  • Clear care instructions

Keep in mind

  • Sides aren't waterproof: the title says waterproof, but the listing says only the base layer is
  • Rating shared with other EHEYCIGA beds
  • Joint-relief claims are the listing's, not proven
3Best for Sizing Up

Comfort Expression XL Dog Bed

4.4 out of 5 from 11,177 ratings on Amazon (as of September 2026)

Sold by Tianyilc, ships from Amazon.

Outside measurements don't tell you how much room your dog gets once the bolsters are in the way. This listing does: the bed is 42 by 30 inches outside, with a 34 by 26 inch sleeping area, for dogs up to 32 inches long and 90 pounds.

It has a 3.5-inch base and 5-inch bolsters, a waterproof inner liner and a removable cover you can machine wash and tumble dry low. It lists a one-year warranty.

Good to know

  • States sleeping area and dog length
  • 90-pound limit stated
  • Washable cover; one-year warranty

Keep in mind

  • The title promises a removable bolster, but the listing says bolster covers ship at random, removable or not
  • Title says waterproof; the spec says water resistant
  • The base is 3.5 inches thick under 5-inch bolsters; the other listings don't give base thickness separately

Side by side

ProductOutside sizeSleeping areaBolstersStated limit
Bedsure XL42 × 32 × 6.5 inNot stated4 sides15 lb (implausible)
EHEYCIGA XL44 × 32 × 6.5 inNot stated3 sidesAbout 100 lb
Comfort Expression XL42 × 30 in34 × 26 in3 sides90 lb; dogs up to 32 in long

Specs as stated on each Amazon listing, checked September 2026.

What to look for

Sleeping area, not just outside size

Bolsters eat into the space. Only one of our picks states its sleeping area, so compare your dog's length with it.

A washable cover

The AKC suggests a removable cover you can wash weekly [1].

A weight limit that makes sense

If a listing's limit doesn't match the bed size, don't rely on it.

Your dog's own habits

Stretchers need length; curlers like bolsters. Canine Arthritis Management says preferences are individual, so watch how your dog uses it [2].

The bottom line

  • Best Overall: The Bedsure has the most ratings of our picks, with four bolsters and a waterproof layer; ignore its weight spec.
  • Best for the Biggest Dogs: The EHEYCIGA is the longest, with a limit of about 100 pounds.
  • Best for Sizing Up: The Comfort Expression tells you the sleeping area and dog length, so you can size it properly.

Questions pet parents ask

Do orthopedic dog beds help with arthritis?

Supportive bedding is often recommended for dogs with arthritis, but we found no controlled study showing orthopedic beds reduce joint pain. Ask your vet about managing your dog's joints.

What size bed does a large dog need?

We couldn't find a vet-backed sizing rule. Our approach is to measure your dog lying stretched out and compare it with the sleeping area, not the outside size. The Comfort Expression is the only pick that states both.

How often should I wash a dog bed?

The AKC suggests choosing a removable cover you can wash weekly [1].

Are these beds waterproof?

Partly. The Bedsure lists a waterproof layer; the Comfort Expression lists a waterproof liner, though its spec says water resistant. The EHEYCIGA's sides aren't waterproof, per its listing.

Why does my dog ignore its new bed?

Canine Arthritis Management says dogs' preferences for bed type, depth, size and location are individual [2]. Try it in a different spot, and give foam beds the 24 to 48 hours some listings say they need to expand.

Sources

  1. AKC Staff. The Importance Of A Good Dog Bed. American Kennel Club, 2026. akc.org
  2. Canine Arthritis Management. Home environment adaptations. caninearthritis.co.uk